A recurring theme in the early days of this blog is going to be a distinct absence of content, replaced by my plans, musings, and ideas. For today, I’d like to talk about what I do everyday, to bring myself closer to my goal: being a game developer. Although every day varies (sometimes wildly), I think people may find it interesting, and others beginners may even derive some inspiration from it. Right now, I guess my focus of productivity is based on, essentially, educating myself, research, and keeping up with the gaming world in general. In that sense, I like to think of all this as the ‘fake it ’till you make it’ principle – i.e., when I do actually have some more professional skills, I’ll hit the ground running, instead of creaking out of the blocks.

So a lot of my friends are using the summer to either do some basic work in retail, or a few are doing internships. Because of this, I treat everyday I have as if I was on an internship. Daily activities include:

  • Learning/doing some programming
  • Improving my art skills
  • Learning about game design
  • Practicing the keyboard
  • News, emails, forums etc.
  • Reading about/learning business skills
  • Working on this blog

This is a good scope for me, and I’m sure as time goes on, the focus will shift. It might be worth mentioning that I sleep at least 7 hours, eat fairly well, and still go out and see my friends. Also, it’s fairly obvious that once term starts again, time spent on this project will be somewhat reduced, even if, theoretically, I have enough time to fit it in, life just doesn’t work that way.

Well let me know what you think, your timetables and maybe some productivity methods.

Leave a Reply

